Tomas Alfredson’s new film of John le Carre’s Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy is just coming out here in the States; glowing reviews here and here. I loved Alfredson’s previous film Let the Right One In – so much so that I read the disappointing book it was based on – and I loved The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, when I finally got around to reading it earlier this year. So I can just about guarantee I’ll like Tinker, Tailor… and really should see it in the cinema. But the only problem is, I have a belief that the book ought to come first, especially in a case like this where suspense plays such an important role in the story. Besides le Carre’s book and the new film, there’s also an apparently brilliant BBC adaptation from the early 80s, starring Alec Guinness. Hot damn! This is a great article to read for a thorough discussion of what made the book and the TV adaptation great; it says the movie is good but doesn’t quite live up.

This is all just a long way of saying: I really need to get hold of a copy of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy (the book) and read the thing while the movie is still on at the cinema, then eventually track down some DVDs of the TV show. I’ll let you know how it goes.

