I had been rereading Dubliners, but stuff from Amazon arrived this morning. At the moment it seems like just about everybody is reading George RR Martin’s fantasy series and I figured I’d give it a go, especially after seeing this review on The Millions. I was an uber-fan of Lord of the Rings up until my teens; I read it eight times and got to a point where I could list off every chapter in sequence and quote large chunks of it. Then at the age of 13 I went cold turkey on fantasy, spending a few years reading science fiction, before discovering John Fowles, Anthony Burgess, Vladimir Nabokov. Since then I’ve been a bit of a snob about genre fiction, but am circling back now and quite excited about this supposedly grown-up version of Lord of the Rings. After that it’s spy fiction: the upcoming adaptation of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy has spurred me to check out early Le Carre. In between times, of course, I’ll have to read Visit from the Goon Squad, which I figure sits somewhere between genre fiction and Dubliners in terms of brow. You can expect prize winning books to sit in the middle to upper-middle-brow range.

