I’m sure you got all your Osama/Obama news already, but here’s a few of the things I thought were interesting:

Both the Guardian and the FT say that the “Arab Spring” had already made Al Qaeda look irrelevant in the Muslim world.

Photo of the White House situation room as the events in Pakistan unfolded (also below!).

Mark Mardell on the implications for Obama: he says it doesn’t guarantee victory in next year’s election; I reckon he was gonna win anyway but this makes it more comfortable.

The cheering crowds in front of the White House, etc: yeah they did make me feel a bit uncomfortable. The death of Bin Laden felt to me more like a moment of solemnity than one of celebration, but there was a lot of relief mixed in which can be kind of euphoric. This post makes the point that most of those out celebrating were probably 9 or 10 years old on 9/11.

A friend on Facebook called the raid a “political assassination:” I don’t agree because I don’t think that Bin Laden was in fact a political opponent of the States. It was his methodology, not his ideology, that made him a target.

