Actually, amazing photos from inside glacier caves! But aren’t they a bit like some of the alien tunnels from Alien and Aliens? Time for a comparison:

Glacier cave photo by Eric Guth

HR Giger design for an alien corridor

Well… kinda. It’s what sprang to mind, anyway.

I like the glacier pictures because I always wondered whether you really could get inside. See, I visited the Fox Glacier in New Zealand with my family when I was eight. We were standing quite far away from the front edge of it, in the rocky valley up which it was slowly retreating. There were signs saying you couldn’t go any closer because of falling rocks. But I saw what looked like cave entrances at the base of the glacier and I wanted to go inside, so I ran off. They called me back before I could get there. Good story huh?

