This has officially become a Topic on OPI – four posts to date! It’s also linking back very nicely to the troublesome memoir thing from earlier.

Here’s author Emily St. John Mandel in The Millions, on getting a bad review:

I’ve heard of tragically sensitive types who get a bad review and spend the next week in bed, but that kind of thing’s hard to pull off when you’ve got a day job and I find that bad reviews are usually not particularly agonizing once the initial shock wears off.

I’m liking the sanguine attitude here. She also has a good bit on people who leap to the defence of books they like when they are reviewed poorly:

I had the fascinating experience of watching a group of presumably reasonable adults fall to pieces over a negative review of a series of books that they hadn’t even written.

I’m referring, of course, to my Millions colleague Janet Potter’s piece on Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy… what I kept thinking, as I read through page after page of vitriol, was “But you didn’t even write these books.” I found it difficult to shake the uncharitable suspicion that several of Janet’s more vehement opponents would last about five minutes as novelists.

I kind of think that the memoirist complaining about a bad review, and more importantly, the legal scholar suing over a bad review, would do well to read this.

