It’s such a long time since blogging was trendy that Chicago Business says the new trend is to quit:

Last year, the number of blogging teens and adults ages 18 to 33 declined, in the first reported drop in blogging, according to Pew Research Center data.

Some have simply switched to another blog-like medium, say, Twitter or Facebook. Others have faced unpleasant facts about blogging. It’s cheap to do but usually doesn’t pay. Having a platform may be fun at first, but building a following takes much more work than simply typing and posting.

(via) I’m so in tune with my age group that I started a blog just as they were all leaving. But yeah, it does take quite a bit of time and the rewards are highly non-obvious. I think Jarle over at The Calculable mentioned one benefit that doesn’t even rely on anyone reading the blog: in future you can look back and find a big list of all the things you found interesting in 2010/11. That’s not a bad reason for keeping doing it I guess. Although I must confess, the readership stats are like crack.

Related: photos of bloggers (via waxy). Gabriela Herman has taken a series of portraits of popular bloggers in their own habitats. There are a lot of faces lit by glowing laptop screens, as in:

Gabriela Herman portrait of Lilit Marcus

I am not gonna do a self portrait to put here, but I can reveal that I’m on the sofa with a laptop on my lap and a lump of ice strapped to my ankle. The ice is not related to blogging.

